Am I missing out on something...?

HolzHammer

Evening All,
Hope all well!
I've been watching more metal detecting videos recently on YouTube... some are really quite fun... some downright awful...
Anyhow as a solo, self-taught detectorist ( not quite the same as being a self taught guitarist or painter but you get my drift) I feel I may have missed out on certain skills and tips you pick up by watching others and mainly taking up my worries at the moment is the habit people have of kneeling by the hole!

This is something i have never done but it seems I am in the minority! i just lower myself on me haunches... easier to keep digging if need to, to grab the detector again, and its much less tiring than getting down on one's knees and then having to haul oneself up again... then there is the problem of wet knees and therefore maybe even more kit you have to think about to combat this ( i detect very lightly i hardly even take a detector!!)

There must be an upside or those who do it wouldn't be doing it... is to already be in a position to give thanks to the Almighty if the need should arise?

I await in anticipation for some answers!
All the Best
Alexander
Emily

HolzHammer wrote: Tue Nov 10, 2020 8:12 pm Evening All,
Hope all well!
I've been watching more metal detecting videos recently on YouTube... some are really quite fun... some downright awful...
Anyhow as a solo, self-taught detectorist ( not quite the same as being a self taught guitarist or painter but you get my drift) I feel I may have missed out on certain skills and tips you pick up by watching others and mainly taking up my worries at the moment is the habit people have of kneeling by the hole!