couple of fossils found today

Kenleyboy

Another ground scanning dog walk today and with the amount of rain we have had this past few days it has washed away the top soil revealing more interesting goodies on the fields .
This one jumped out at me in amongst the flint strewn soil most notably the white nodule . I am no expert but it has the hallmarks of a fossilised creature .
20210201_162847_resized[2795].jpg
This next one is also interesting and I found this on my way back out of the field towards home . The amount of times I have stepped over this and never noticed . The dogs were busy sniffing the ground so I stood idle for a while , looked down and it was almost at my feet . This has come out of the farm drainage ditch as they have recently been cleared of any debris to prevent flooding and there are a number of these lumps of rock in the spoil . Light was fading but its worth another root through them in case of anymore .
20210201_162825_resized[2794].jpg
20210201_162919_resized[2797].jpg
DaveP

Paul,
I'd go for a sponge on the top one and maybe ammonite on the lower.
I can get them ID'd but need a scale or idea of the size please. If you think some detectorists get uppity about missing scales you should try some fossil folk :lol:

Chris
Kenleyboy

DaveP wrote: Mon Feb 01, 2021 5:59 pm Paul,
I'd go for a sponge on the top one and maybe ammonite on the lower.
I can get them ID'd but need a scale or idea of the size please. If you think some detectorists get uppity about missing scales you should try some fossil folk :lol:

Chris
:lol:

Sponge is 45 mm x 35 mm

Ammonite is 35 mm x 35 mm

Thanks Chris :thumbsup:
Blackadder43

*Dumb question alert*
With these fossils being found on land in todays times, when you look around and say to yourself "i wonder how deep it was here?"
So dumb question of the day is:
Is there any way to estimate how deep it may have been when these creatures were actively playing and growing?