Merovingians, Vikings, Russians and Brummies....

Littleboot

Well I thought it was time to do a bit of a round up of what I have had so far from the back field. It is a very big field and stretches far over the horizon and was once perhaps 20 fields. In the picture you can see a farmhouse which is late 16th century in origin. Many of the outbuildings, including a large cider press/barn were in what is now the large field and have disappeared. They, like the house (and all the houses in the hamlet including ours) would have been half-timbered on a base wall of flint nodules and/or dressed stone. The road through the hamlet is Roman but the horizon of this photo is a ridgeway which goes back to ancient times and disappeared around 100 years ago.
100_5700.JPG
I have been detecting this field, crops permitting, for 18 years. It is next to my home so I tend to have a pootle on it if i have a spare hour, and it also happens to be a field I have to walk over in one direction or another, to get onto many of my other fields. So been done a lot and has been very good to me. It has produced 2 gold hammereds, (including one this season) an electrum stater , 2 ampullas, and numerous other nice silver finds. (Though oddly no older hammered silver)